Class of 2022

BELLEFONTAINE, Ohio – The Ohio Hi-Point Class of 2022 celebrated Wednesday evening during the Bellefontaine Main Campus’ 48th Annual Convocation Ceremony, which recognizes the 189 seniors who attend the Bellefontaine Main Campus from one of OHP’s 14 partner school districts and complete a career-technical program.

Ohio Hi-Point’s Students of the Month led the procession followed by the posting of the colors by the American Legion Post 173 of Bellefontaine. Rivvyn Café, a Graphic and Media Arts Academy senior from Graham High School performed the national anthem.

Victoria Blanks, a Cosmetology senior from Indian Lake High School, led the Pledge of Allegiance and the introductions of guests.

Superintendent Dr. Rick Smith welcomed the graduates and families and took a moment to recognize the teachers, families, and friends who supported the Class of 2022.  

Brycen Howard, a Diesel senior from Graham High School, Zoe Frericks, a Graphic and Media Arts Academy senior from Marysville, and Madison Agner, a Graphic and Media Arts Academy senior from Waynesfield-Goshen High School were the student speakers for the evening.

The speeches focused on the challenges the Class of 2022 overcame and the experiences they’ve had in the past two years.

“I am proud to be a part of this Hi-Point chapter, as should you all,” said Howard. “We all made a decision to come here, learn about something we are passionate about, and ultimately better ourselves.”

“OHP can give so much to those who genuinely want it as long as you work hard to get it,” said Frericks. She also reminded her class that, “Life isn’t a one decision experience, it’s an experience in itself for us to make all kinds of decisions and learn from them.”

Agner reflected on her time at Hi-Point and finished by saying, “I am thankful for Ohio Hi-Point, the opportunities within, and the ability to walk away with not only academic success and personal strength, but life lessons I will carry with me for the rest of my life.”

Elizabeth Greene, an Engineering Academy senior, was recognized as Ohio Hi-Point’s Best of Class. Greene will continue her education at The University of Cincinnati majoring in Mechanical Engineering Technology.

Paityn Dowty, a Health Careers Academy senior from Graham was honored as the Top Senior Student of the Year. The Top Senior recognizes a senior who continually demonstrates strong character, grades, attendance, citizenships, and service while attending Ohio Hi-Point.

Lou Vito, president of WPKO/WBLL in Bellefontaine, announced the names of the 189 seniors as they received certificates of completion from the career technical instructors.

High School Director, Tonya Ramey, shared successes of the OHP Class of 2022. Nearly 100 students participated in the Work-Based Learning program, logging over 27,000 work hours and collectively earning an estimated $305,000. In addition, students earned 126 College Credit Plus credits in academic courses.

Ramey also recognized the Class for choosing their “E” – employment, enrollment, or enlistment. Approximately 71 percent of the Class of 2022 is employed, helping to fill the immediate gap in the workforce. Around 37 percent of the Class of 2022 is enrolled and have received over $448,000 in scholarships. Finally, 2 percent are enlisted from the Class of 2022. Aiden Hall, a Construction senior from Mechanicsburg High School, enlisted in the Army National Guard. Jennifer Herrera-Montelongo, a Health Careers Academy senior from Kenton High School, and Audrie Williams, a Health Careers Academy senior from Marysville High School, enlisted in the Navy. Hayden Overly, a Welding and Fabrication senior from Bellefontaine High School, enlisted in the Army.

Ramey closed the ceremony by saying, “Thank you for sharing your final two years of high school at Ohio Hi-Point. I hope you know how proud this faculty, staff, and I am of you!”

The Ceremony took place at Benjamin Logan High School and had opening and closing music from the Benjamin Logan Brass Quintet led by Myles Bowers. Ohio Hi-Point’s Convocation Ceremony was broadcasted on WPKO and 

Watch the Class of 2022 Convocation Ceremony